Rifle Paper Co Fabric

I definitely don’t think I was the only one to impatiently await the release of Rifle Paper Co’s first fabric collaboration with Cotton and Steel: Les Fleurs. I don’t often branch out from Liberty but this collection has inspired most of my AW sewing this year.

FullSizeRender.jpg

My First project was Tilly and the Buttons’ Martha dress in the red Les Fleurs rayon. I’d never sewn using this type of fabric before, and was a bit apprehensive about sewing princess seams in a slippery fabric, but the combination of a flippy skirt in swooshy rayon was too tempting for me to forgo.

img_0141

It actually cut beautifully, and the sewing itself wasn’t too difficult, however I regretted not making a muslin as the fit of the Martha wasn’t great on my body shape and I had to take in each panel significantly at the waist. I did most of it by eye and in the end the fit was pretty good. I like that this dress would be as fitting for Christmas as it would on a summers evening, especially with the length falling just above the knee meaning tights optional.

img_0242img_0240

My second bit of sewing with Rifle Paper Co fabric was specifically for a Christmas dress, and I chose their navy Queen Anne fabric which has an amazing metallic gold pattern on navy cotton. The cotton is pretty thick which was ideal as I wanted this version of the Martha to be structured with a 1960s vibe.

IMG_0479.JPG

For this one I chose to make the bell sleeves to add to this style, although decided to leave out the high neck as I wanted it to be wearable day to day. I also decided to make this one a bit shorter as I would definitely be wearing it with tights.

img_0492

This was a joy to cut out and sew, it made for really easy sewing and I ended up finishing it in just a couple of evenings. I ended up binding the neck and sleeves in Liberty bias binding which gives a nice effect when you see a flash of the inside of the sleeves. It did turn out a bit wizard-like, but I’ve decided I’m ok with that.


I’ve used some off-cuts so far to make Christmas cards and a bow tie.

img_0564img_0628

Now to wait for the SS collection to launch!

Leave a Reply

